top of page

The Flight Over and All the Feels

As I write this, I am currently sitting on my eight-hour flight headed to Copenhagen. Originally, I started writing this to try and put into words what was going through my mind and possibly help me sleep a bit, but I can’t even begin to describe the thoughts that I am feeling. My head is both racing and completely still, and my heart can’t decide whether or not I am having a panic attack or I am having a spa day. I can say with absolute certainty that I am beginning to feel the effects of saying goodbye to so many loved ones in one day. Saying goodbye is never easy, is it? There is never a “right” way to do it either, which maybe makes it even harder. And yes, it is only for eleven months, and I will be back, but that doesn’t make it any easier. These people I have seen nearly every day for the past eighteen years eight months and seven days of my life (plus or minus a few ;) ).

Writing became a little too difficult to do on the flight, plus I was exhausted and just wanted to sleep, but I am currently awaiting my flight to Vienna in Copenhagen’s airport. Truly the waiting is what hurts me the most, it definitely gives me too much time to think. However, I am feeling mainly excited for the adventure ahead of me. It just doesn’t feel quite real yet. Maybe that will change once I get to Vienna? Or maybe Nitra?

My host mom has been contacting me more than usual and it is giving me a bit of comfort. I am so incredibly excited to meet her. I am also excited to see where I will be staying for the next few months (and maybe shower…I hate flights). The date of my departure really snuck up on me though. One day I still had two months left, and the next I was waiting at the airport for my flight to Chicago and saying goodbye to my family. The fact that I was leaving for a year didn’t hit me until about hour 5 of my flight to Copenhagen. And that was tough. It’s hard realizing that you won’t see the people you are used to seeing every day for another year…

Despite that though, I am still incredibly excited for this adventure and I cannot wait to continue sharing about it. Until next time!

-Haley

bottom of page